What is ambient lighting?

Ambient Lighting. Ambient (or general ) light is typically seen as the starting point for a space or a room. It makes up the "base" amount of light in a room.Ambient light can come from recessed downlights mounted in the ceiling,lights mounted to the surface of the ceiling, or table and floor lamps.