Why did star wars start with episode four?

The original star wars story started with episode 1 and told the entire saga, as the script was distributed for sale there were no takers. George Lucas pared the script down to episode 4 but refused to negate the entirety of the back story, leaving the door open for writing it as a separate trilogy