Do you need to grease a pie pan?

It is recommended to avoid greasing pie pans, as it may alter the texture of the crust

---

Not if you're making pie. You may if you are making something other than pie, however. Pie crust or pastry has enough butter so that it will not stick to the pie pan, but if you aren't using pastry, you may have to use something so that the crust or bottom of it doesn't stick.