Are oarfishes real?

Oarfish are real fish, yes. Oarfish are large, greatly elongated, pelagic lampriform fish. Found in all temperate to tropical oceans yet rarely seen, the oarfish family contains three species in two genera. One of these, the giant oarfish, is the longest bony fish alive, growing up to 8 m in length.