Is a kidney bean a legume?

Beans and peas are the mature forms of legumes. They include kidney beans, pinto beans, black beans, lima beans, black-eyed peas, garbanzo beans (chickpeas), split peas and lentils. ... The USDA Food Patterns classify beans and peas as a subgroup of the Vegetable Group.