How did thomas edison invent the light bulb?

Thomas Edison's light bulb began with imagination, though borrowing ideas from others. He knew that an electric current flowing through a resistive carbon filament would get hot enough to produce light. He made a vacuum in the bulb to prevent the filament from burning out in the presence of oxygen.