Who is the great lady?

The Old Gray Lady refers to the New York Times Newspaper. The nick name dates back to a 1951 Life article written by a New York Times columnist who explained that in the newspaper trade, the Times was then seen as classic and staunchly conservative, or, "Old and Gray".