How is velcro made?

Velcro is made up of stiffened hooks, and soft loops. Both sides of a strip of Velcro are made of nylon. The hooks are created under an infrared lamp, which molds them and gives them the appropriate stiffness. The loops are made of matted nylon fibers that provide the mates to the hooks.