How long will it take to get to the end of the galaxy?

The milky way galaxy is 100,000 light years across and we live half way out from the center, therefore we would need to traverse 25,000 light years to leave the galaxy. It would take almost one billion years for a spacecraft travelling at the speed of the space shuttle to leave the galaxy.