Who was president of the united states before george washington?

Peyton Randolph was 1st president of the Continental Congress. John Hanson was 1st president of the Continental Congress after the Articles of Confederation were adopted. Thomas McKean, while serving as 9th president of the Continental Congress, was the first to be addressed as President of the U.S.