What's the difference between optometry and ophthalmology?

Optometry is basic eye care, and does not require an medical license to practice. Ophthalmology is a full-on medical specialty that includes basic eye care but more significantly treats disorders of the eye.

---

The main difference between Ophthalmology and Optometry is the medical depth of expertise. Ophthalmologists are either M.D or D.O board certified and focus on diseases of the eye as well as eye surgery. Optometrists area of expertise focuses on improving vision with Glasses and Contacts