Why do they call pigtails pigtails?

The term comes from tobacco leaves being cured. They would get twisted together to dry faster. Because they would curl up tightly during this process, they were referred to as 'pigtails'. It is believed that the hairstyle is named after this type of pigtail, and not the actual tail on pigs.