Why do people call french fries french fries?

American soldiers stationed in Belgium were first introduced to French fries during World War I. As the official language of the Belgian army was French, soldiers nicknamed the delicious fried potatoes “French fries." The name stuck, and decades later we're still giving credit to the wrong country.

---

The word French fries probably came from the French chef, Honoré Julien. The recipe, entitled "Pommes de terre frites en petites tranches" or "Potatoes deep-fried while raw, in small slices" was so popular, it became a mainstay in several American cookbooks as ‘French Fried Potatoes’.