What happens when you breathe in helium?

When helium is inhaled it remains at a more elevated location in the lungs while oxygen remains at the bottom this is because of the fact that helium is lighter than oxygen As you try to speak, you exhale helium instead of oxygen out of your vocal chords Which is why your voice is at a higher pitch