What percentage of the population have red hair?

About 1 to 2 percent of the human population has red hair.

---

Red is the least common hair color. An estimated 1 to 2% of the west Eurasian population has red hair. In most regions of the world, it is even more uncommon.

---

About 1 to 2 percent of the human population has red hair. Redheads have genes to thank for their tresses. Research shows red hair usually results from a mutation in a gene called MC1R, which codes for the melanocortin-1 receptor. The pigment found in redhair that makes it red is called pheomelanin.