Are mussels and clams the same thing?

No. Though they both belong to the mollusk family & are somewhat similar, they are not the same. Clams are only found in fresh water. Mussels may be found in fresh or salt water. Clams can move about, while mussels are rooted to one spot. There are physical differences. They also taste different.