When did the first world war breakout?

While there had been rising tension and small conflicts in Europe for a number of years prior, the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, and his wife Sophie, by a Serbian nationalist on June 28, 1914, is considered the beginning date for World War One.