Is it bad luck to kill a dragonfly?

That depends, if you're superstitious. In some cultures, Dragonflies represent good luck or prosperity. Dragonflies are good at eating mosquitos and gnats. Fishermen use dragonflies as indicators to know if there are plenty of fish in the lake or not.