Do you need to wash skillet before cooking?

A well-seasoned cast iron skillet can be easily cleaned after each use with a very small amount of detergent and hot water. It should not need to be cleaned before cooking, depending on how it's stored. If it's hung on a rack and accumulates dust it should be rinsed and dried before using.