What did istanbul used to be called?

The emperor, Constantine I, made the city the seat of the Eastern Roman Empire in 330, naming it Constantinople. When the Republic of Turkey was founded in 1923, the capital was moved to Ankara, and Constantinople was officially renamed Istanbul in 1930.