What does spit come from?

Spit is saliva secreted by 3 major pairs of salivary glands located inside each cheek, bottom of mouth, & near front teeth by jawbone. Also100's of minor smaller oral mucous glands are scattered in tissues of cheeks, lips, tongue & palate. Saliva aids chewing, tasting, swallowing & starts digestion.