When was beef wellington invented?

Early 1800s. A national hero for defeating Napoleon at Waterloo in 1815, Arthur Wellesley was made the first Duke of Wellington. He loved a dish of beef, mushrooms, truffles, Madeira wine, and pâté cooked in pastry, which has been named in his honor.