What's the difference between average and mean?

Average & mean are often used interchangeably as mathematical terms. To find the average, one sums all the numbers in the set & then divides by the number of numbers. This is also known as the arithmetic mean. However, there are also other types of means, such as the geometric mean or harmonic mean.