What is the closest state to canada?

Depends on your position. The US States with a land border to Canada (east to west) are: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Washington and Alaska. Also, Pennsylvania and Ohio have borders with Canada on Lake Erie.