What is the theme in number the stars?

Number the Stars explores the themes of bravery and true friendship. Lowry relies on historical accounts of actual events, her friend Annelise Platt's firsthand account of living in Denmark as a child during World War II, & her own determination and skill as a writer to relate her thematic messages.