Is syrup a sauce?

A sauce is any liquid used to accompany food. ... When you put maple syrup on pancakes, you are using it as a sauce.

---

No. Syrup tends to be sugary, like sugar syrups and maple syrup. Sauces are mostly salty or savory like BBQ, Tomato, and others. Syrups are usually harder to "drip" than sauces as well.