What is the definition of the word ghost?

an apparition of a dead person which is believed to appear or become manifest to the living, typically as a nebulous image.

---

a disembodied soul especially : the soul of a dead person believed to be an inhabitant of the unseen world or to appear to the living in bodily likeness. A spirit or demon.