Is a mountain lion a bobcat?

No, Bobcats are the most similar relatives of mountain lions and they share many physical and behavioral traits. The mountain lion has a long tail (2.5-3 feet), while the bobcat has a short tail (less than 10 inches). Mountain lions are 7-9 feet, while bobcats are 3 feet long.