Why do cats headbutt people?

Cats have scent glands in their foreheads and cheeks, so rubbing their face against objects like shoes or blankets, even you, is a type of marking territory. Your scent is comforting, it sounds strange but some cats really are calmed and relaxed by smell of our sweat and react to it very positively.

---

Domestic cats' scent rubbing behavior towards humans or other cats is thought to be a feline means for social bonding.