Is canada controlled by england?

Formally, Canada is a constitutional monarchy. The titular head is the reigning monarch of the United Kingdom, represented by a governor-general (appointed by the Canadian prime minister). In practice, however, Canada is an independent federal state and British control ended in 1982.