What's the difference between caramel and carmel?

C A R A M E L Caramel & C A R M E L carmel are not different spellings of the same word. C A R A M E L caramel is correct spelling for food or colors. C A R M E L carmel is a misspelling when used in those contexts, but is a word used as a name for people or places. SOURCE GRAMMERLY.com