Who was american pie written about?

song was inspired, first and foremost, by the deaths of musicians Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and J.P “The Big Bopper” Richardson in a plane crash on Feb. 3, 1959 – the “day the music died,” according to the song. (McLean was a 13-year-old paperboy at the time and mourned their deaths greatly.)