Where did the word ok come from?

When “o.k.” appeared in print, it was intended to be the shortening of “oll korrect,” the humorous misspelling of “all correct.” Boston Morning Post editor Charles Gordon Greene, was likely the author of the attack on the Providence newspaper and thus the man who gave birth to OK.