Why does deli meat get slimy?

This happens as the additives that have been injected into the meat begin to leak out or react with air. It does not mean the meat has spoiled. You can eliminate this by buying store-cooked deli meats instead of packaged, and reduce it by keeping your prepackaged meat tightly sealed.