How fast can wind go?

The fastest non storm wind that's widely agreed upon as the record-holder — 231 mph, recorded at Mount Washington, New Hampshire, on April 12, 1934. During a tornado in May of 1999 in Oklahoma, researchers clocked the wind at 318 mph.