What kind of bird is zazu?

The most famous bird in the Lion King film is Zazu, a red-billed hornbill who plays the flying wise mentor to Mufasa and later Simba.

---

Zazu from The Lion King is a red-billed hornbill.

---

Zazu is a supporting character of Disney's 1994 animated feature film The Lion King. He is an uptight, red-billed hornbill that served as King Mufasa's majordomo, and the begrudged caretaker of Simba.