Why is the two dollar bill rare?

A two dollar bill is generally not rare. You can typically get them from a bank branch.

---

U.S. Two dollar bills are a currently printed denomination of U.S. Currency. They are produced generally every 1 to 4 years, as needed, to meet demands, and are available from most banks. They are seldom seen in circulation, but are not rare.