What does it mean to have a blue moon?

There are two reasons for a blue moon. First, a phenomenon whereby the moon appears bluish owing to smoke or dust particles in the atmosphere. Additionally, a second full moon in a calendar month.

---

A blue moon refers to the second full moon in a calendar month.