Are spleens necessary?

Spleens may or may not be necessary to human existence. Scientists aren't entirely certain but many people seem to be able to live without one just fine. The spleen fights invading germs in the blood, controls the level of blood cells & filters the blood to removes any old or damaged red blood cells