When was the sexton invented?

The sextant, an instrument for measuring angles, was developed from a suggestion by Captain John Campbell of the Royal Navy in 1757. Those promoting the use of lunar distances, or "lunars," for finding longitude at the end of the 18th century stimulated the invention of the sextant.