What is the difference between fig and plum?

Figs and Plums are two different fruits entirely. Plums are closely related to nectarines and peaches. Figs are from a different botanical lineage, more tropical in origin. Both are commonly dried, and in recipes calling for dried figs or prunes they may be typically used interchangeably.