Are chia seeds nuts?

Chia seeds contain 7S seed storage proteins and 11S seed storage proteins, which are protein found in lots of other nuts and seeds. There is however very limited information or clinical evidence on cross reactivity to show that these seeds should be avoided by nut and seed allergy sufferers.