Why is lightning dangerous?

One reason lightning is so dangerous is that it's hard to know just when and where it is likely to strike—or how it will behave when it does. ... Lightning can actually strike outside the storm that produced it.

---

Lightening is the transmission of a very large amount of energy, many times greater than household electricity, from the atmosphere to the ground. The electricity must be grounded and if it passes through your body it can cause significant damage and death.