How do you keep a christmas tree from dying?

When you take the tree indoors, re-cut the trunk if you haven't done so already. Place the tree in a stand that will hold at least a gallon of water. The key to keeping your tree fresh is to keep the bottom 2 inches of the trunk in water, even if that means refilling the stand every day.