What would happen if the world stopped turning?

If it stopped suddenly it would be cataclysmic. Buildings would topple, Oceans and seas would rush onto land as tsunamis. Tectonic plates would shift. If it slowed to a stop, days and nights would get longer. The side facing the sun would become a desert wasteland, the dark side would become frozen.