Why is cheese white?

All cheese is naturally white, or off white, or even a golden yellow, depending on the type of milk used. But you'll never find a cow that gives orange milk. The color instead comes from the flavorless Annatto seed, which gives Wisconsin cheddar that pumpkin orange hue.

---

Cheeses like cottage cheese and feta retain their dense protein structures and so continue to appear white. Some cheeses made from other animals' milk, like goat cheese and buffalo mozzarella, are white because goats and water buffalo don't store beta carotene in their fat the way cows do.