Has there ever been a successful head transplant?

There have been cases where mad scientist doctors have decapitated a monkey and reconnected the head, but there is no known way to properly reconnect the spine, meaning that the monkey was paralyzed for life. A human head has never been successfully transplanted onto a body either.