Why do eggs smell like sulfur?

Eggs are very high in two proteins, globulin and keratin. When globulin begins to decay, a toxic chemical is released that's called hydrogen sulfide, which has that very potent sulfur smell.

---

Eggs are very high in two proteins, globulin and keratin. When globulin begins to decay, a toxic chemical is released that is called hydrogen sulfide, which has a very potent sulfur smell.