Why do dogs lick carpet?

Dogs lick carpet and other objects because they smell or taste something. Licking is a natural behavior of many animals to investigate or clean of whatever scent was detected. Dogs sense of smell is orders of magnitude greater than humans.

---

It's Soft for them to chew on