What type of plane does tom cruise fly?

In the movie Top Gun, Maverick flew the f-16 Tomcat. This was the main fleet defense aircraft at the time. By the time the sequel was made, the aircraft was replaced by the Lockheed Martin F-35 Lightning II, which he flew. At the end of the film, he was reunited with his ancient F-16.